U.S. Particle Accelerator School
U.S. Particle Accelerator School
Education in Beam Physics and Accelerator Technology

  2022 USPAS Prize winners announced

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2022 USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Science and Technology:

Rama Calaga

For outstanding leadership bringing the crab cavities in hadron colliders from concept to reality and for the first demonstration of crabbing on a hadron beam.

Early-Career Award

Geoffrey Krafft

For pioneering contributions to superconducting linear accelerators and radiation sources driven by them, and for his dedication in educating and mentoring the next generation of accelerator scientists.

Gennady Stupakov

For comprehensive contributions to collective effects including coherent synchrotron radiation, invention of the echo-enabled harmonic generation scheme for external seeding of FELs, and his role as a teacher and a mentor in many schools and workshops.

Each winner will receive a certificate of merit and a cash award of $3,000.00. The awards are made possible by donations from Argonne National Laboratory; Brookhaven Science Associates; Fermi Research Alliance, LLC; SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and the Jefferson Science Associates Initiatives Funds Program and will be presented at the North American Particle Accelerator Conference in August.

The USPAS Prize honors individuals by recognizing their outstanding achievements over the full range of accelerator physics and technology. Three achievement prizes will be awarded every three years. One of the three prizes will be awarded to an early-career scientist under 45 years of age. The prizes are awarded on a competitive basis without bias to race, ethnicity, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, national origin, disability or religion.

USPAS Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology homepage

2022 Prize Selection Committee 
Frank Zimmermann (CERN), Chair
Emanuela Barzi (Fermilab)
Mark Boland (Canadian Light Source/University of Saskatchewan)
Zhirong Huang (SLAC National Accelerator Lab) 
Fulvia Pilat (Oak Ridge National Lab)
Silvia Verdu Andres (Brookhaven National Lab)


Past Prize Winners and Citations