Participants

John Peoples is director of Fermilab. Before becoming director in 1990, he served as deputy laboratory director. Prior to that, he was head of the Magnet Division at the SSC Central Design Group at LBL. Dr. Peoples originally joined Fermilab in 1972 and, in addition to his experimental research work, has served as head of the Proton Laboratory, head of the Research Division, project manager for the Antiproton Source and deputy head of the Accelerator Division. He received his Ph.D. in physics from Columbia University.

Ken Stanfield is deputy director of Fermilab. Since arriving at Fermilab in 1977, he has had a broad range of assignments including associate department head of the Proton Department; head of the Experimental Areas Department, head of Business Services and head of the Research Division. Dr. Stanfield holds a Ph.D. in experimental elementary particle physics from Harvard University.

Joseph Lach is an experimental physicist in Fermilab's Research Division. He joined the Laboratory in 1969 and since then has served as associate head of the Neutrino Laboratory and later as head of the Physics Section. Dr. Lach has participated in collaborative experimental programs with institutions in Russia, Brazil and Europe. He has had a continuing interest in issues involving science and public policy. His Ph.D. in physics is from the University of California at Berkeley.

Roald Sagdeev is the former director of the Institute for Space Research of the then Soviet Union's Academy of Sciences. From 1985 to 1988 he also served as an advisor to Mikhail Gorbachev on space and arms control issues. Dr. Sagdeev is currently the director of the East-West Space Science Center and a professor of physics at the University of Maryland. He is a member of the Planetary Board of Advisors.

Richard Slansky is the leader of the Theory Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory and adjunct professor of physics at the University of California at Irvine. Before joining Los Alamos in 1974, he taught physics at Yale University and prior to that was a postdoctoral fellow at CalTech. His Ph.D. in physics was earned at the University of California at Berkeley.

Leon Lederman is director emeritus of Fermilab. He won the Nobel Prize in physics in 1988 and the prestigious Enrico Fermi Award for 1992. Dr. Lederman was Fermilab's second director and on his watch the Tevatron, the first superconducting synchrotron, was constructed. He is founding trustee of the Illinois Math and Science Academy, co-chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Teachers' Academy of Mathematics and Science in Chicago and serves as the Governor's Science Advisor. He holds a Ph.D. in physics from Columbia University.

Lewis Franklin is currently a visiting scholar at the Stanford Center for International Security and Arms Control. Prior to his early retirement in 1992, he was vice president, Special Studies for TRW's Space and Defense Sector and an expert in international military technology and military threats to U.S. security. For the past four years, Mr. Franklin has been involved in assisting ex-soviet military factories in defense conversion and restructuring. Mr. Franklin holds a B.S. in electrical engineering from the University of California at Berkeley and he completed the Stanford University Executive Program. He has served on numerous U.S. advisory committees. *****