THE PARTICIPANTS

<u>Dr. Arvind</u> is on the faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is an expert in data-flow concepts.

Dr. B. Norman Christ is a Theoretical Physicist on the faculty of Columbia University. Professor Christ is interested in using numerical methods to predict the fundamental quantum field theory. He is presently developing a special-purpose parallel vector processor to deal with such problems.

Dr. Thomas Nash is Deputy Head of the Fermilab Physics Department and Head of the Advanced Computer Program. He was one of the major designers of a super high-speed modular processor developed at Fermilab.

Dr. Jack Schwartz is a Professor in the Courant Institute at NYU. He is interested in machine architectures, programming languages and robotics. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Schwartz is a principal mover behind the NYU Ultra-Computer Project which intends to produce a large scale fully parallel Super Computer in the early 1990's.

Dr. Burton Smith is Vice President of R&D of Denelcor, Inc. and concurrently Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Colorado, Denver. The Denelcor HEP is the first commercially available MIMD (parallel) Super Computer.

Dr. David Wallace is a member of the Physics Department at the University of Edinburgh. He is now involved with a group at Edinburgh doing theoretical physics calculations on the ICL Distributed Array Processor.

Dr. Kenneth Wilson is a Theoretical Physicist on the faculty of Cornell University. He is interested in applying new computer concepts to complex physical problems. He was the recipient of the 1982 Nobel Prize in Physics.

· · ·